a person reaches out their car door to drop off a ballot in a secure ballot box.
Sarahy Rudder drops off her ballot at the Loussac Library voting center on April 5, 2021. (Jeff Chen/Alaska Public Media)

Preliminary results show Assembly member Forrest Dunbar with a slight lead in the race for mayor, according to unofficial and incomplete results reported by the Anchorage municipal clerk Tuesday night.

At 9 p.m. with only 10,606 votes counted, Dunbar had 3,701 votes, followed by former Air Force pilot Dave Bronson with 3,116 votes, former city manager Bill Falsey with 1,281 votes, former Assembly member Bill Evans with 999 votes, businessman Mike Robbins with 745 votes and former special assistant to Mayor Berkowitz George Martinez with 321 votes.

If no candidate receives more than 45 percent of votes, the top two will go to a runoff election on May 11.

In school board races, the early results had incumbents struggling to hold onto their seats.

Kelly Lessens led the race for Anchorage School Board seat B with 3,699 votes. Judy Eledge followed with 3,376. For seat E, Pat Higgins led with 3,264 votes, followed by Sami Graham at 2,692 and incumbent Alisha Hilde at 1,264. For seat F, Dora Wilson led with 4,260 votes, followed by Kim Paulson with 2,888 and Marcus Sanders with 1,463. Finally, Carl Jacobs held a slight lead over incumbent Elisa Vakalis in the race for seat G, with 4,726 votes to Vakalis’ 4,166.

The petition to recall Midtown Assembly member Felix Rivera was losing with 939 no votes and 638 yes votes.

This is a developing story. Check back for updates.

Source link