​Boulder Valley school board candidate Connor Bunting, a service desk specialist at the Computer Task Group, announced Monday he’s dropping out of the race for the for the District D seat.

Courtesy photo

Connor Bunting

The seat is held by Sam Fuqua, who is term limited. The race now will be uncontested with only one candidate, Stacey Zis, running. The Boulder Valley Education Association endorsed Zis for the seat.

In an email announcing his withdrawal, Bunting said he “cannot, in good conscience stand against the desires of educators.”

“As the son of a former educator and a wholehearted supporter of educators, I know from experience how easily their voice can be silenced and have no desire to oppose a candidate they have determined best represents their interests,” he wrote.

Because the ballots have already been certified, his name will still appear on Boulder County’s ballots, said Mircalla Wozniak, spokeswoman for the Boulder County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. Any votes for him won’t be reported.

Boulder Valley school board members represent different geographic areas, but are elected by voters in the entire district. Four of the seven school board seats — Districts A, C, D and G — are up for election in November.

With Bunting’s withdrawal, as well as Maya Key’s withdrawal from the District C race before the ballots were certified, only one of the four races will be contested.

Incumbent Richard Garcia is running uncontested for the District G seat, while incumbent Kathy Gebhardt is running uncontested in District C.

The District A seat is held by Shelly Benford, who is term limited and cannot run again. Vying for her seat are Jai Rajagopal and Lisa Sweeney-Miran. The Boulder Valley Education Association endorsed both Rajagopal and Sweeney-Miran.

Source link